What I Loved About Yesterday

Trivia: I know how to measure blood pressure using an analogue sphygmomanometer.

I had a full and tiring day yesterday, what did I love about it?

  • Helping people with their health needs. I am an accountant by profession but my first love in career has always been in health care. I wanted to be a doctor before but I decided against it because my selfishness took over. I did not want to do the “holy hours”shift or be bothered while I am enjoying my time off work so I chose the career path of that with normal office hours. I try to join community outreach as much as I can though and I love every moment of those. Trivia: I know how to measure blood pressure using an analogue sphygmomanometer.
  • The weather. It was bright and sunny. It has been raining the past days. You could tell from the soft ground and mud in the softball field.
  • The facts I learned from giving a mini-lecture in our station. We were assigned in Station 6: Air. Did you know that 1 gallon of air is moved in and out of our body when we are resting and up to 26 gallons of air when we are exercising? That’s 26 times more fresh supply of oxygen to our cells!
  • Spending time with my church family. It’s always a great time when I am with them.
  • Playing softball with my school family. They knew there was going to be a game. I did not know that. They asked me to play because there’s not enough players on our team. Rusty is an understatement. The bat felt so foreign in my hands. I was a pretty decent hitter before, not excellent, but I could always hit the ball. Yesterday, it’s all air. Dangit.
  • The softball game. It was so fun and funny. The score was 0-0 up to the 5th inning. The opponent (kids) made a homerun in the 6th and our team tied in the 7th.
  • The comments by the game commentator, a previous college baseball player. He said that he was named MVP 3 times when he was in Hawaii. Comments like:
    • “If only you can hit as well as you can catch.”
    • “Our score is still at 0-0. This is such a tight game.”
    • “This is the fastest softball game I have ever seen.” When no one was making a run, everyone either strikes out or hit a fly ball, one inning is over in less than 10 minutes.
    • “Two women out.” Even if they were men.
    • “Next time, use a wider bat.” When I did not hit the ball and I struck out.
    • “PMA wins…only by accident.”
  • How tired I got the whole day. For a few weeks now, I haven’t had a full 8-hour sleep until last night. I was in bed before 10, fell asleep almost immediately. I only read one chapter of “Life of Pi” then I slept.

What I didn’t like: dehydration, heat and fatigue took the better of me at the last minute. I just instantly snapped when something triggered me.

Besides that, yesterday was a great Sunday. Fun and meaningful (and sweltering). I love those kinds of days.

 

 

Author: ojgetsanotherblog

A hormonal, overly emotional know-it-all.

Leave a Reply

