Chocolates and Flowers

Last week, there were chocolates.

Today, there were flowers.

Friends, ladies, and gentlemen, don’t get too excited. I hope I don’t sound ungrateful with this post. I totally appreciate the gesture and the effort, I do. This doesn’t sound too promising now, does it? 
Truth is, I’m excited about love and relationship and companionship and all that jazz. In all honesty, I am praying for it. But flowers and chocolates are not really the way to my heart. It’s still all about a person’s values, ambitions, goals, and communication. 
Now, more than ever, I have realized that whatever a person shows to impress me would not matter once we are in a stage when he could not hide anything, when he could not pretend to be another person, when he doesn’t have to impress anymore. What would show would be the real person, that is the person who I would have to deal with everyday.
Can he make me laugh? Is he honest? Would he let God guide us? Will he be willing to listen to me when I want to rant and not judge me for saying what I really feel? Will I be willing to listen to him? Is he willing to sacrifice some things for us? Will he be worth the sacrifice I will make for us? Would we both be willing to forgive each other and bounce back to being happy together? Can I trust him? Will I be trustworthy with him? Does he have goals? What is he doing to achieve those goals? Will he support me in achieving my goals? Can we plan adventures together? How does he handle his money? Does he know how to have fun? Does he spend too much on having fun?
It’s not just what he is willing to do for me. It’s also what I would be willing to do for him. I want to be in a relationship where we become better persons, where everyday is a blessing and not another stressful day to be survived. 
Those are just some of the things. I still enjoy the thrill of being giddy because of someone but I’ve learned my lesson. While it is easier and more convenient being a half of a pair, it’s better to be single than to be in a toxic relationship. 

Hopefully, it’s pizza next week. I’m kidding!!!

Author: ojgetsanotherblog

A hormonal, overly emotional know-it-all.

2 thoughts on “Chocolates and Flowers”

Leave a Reply

